Kampala, Uganda, 16th April 2021. 2019 African Club Champions quarter finalists Nemostars are airborne to Tunis.

The 10-commandos left this morning aboard Egypt Air and will arrive in Tunis on Saturday, just in time for the technical meeting.

Nemostars are returning to the continent having won the National Volleyball league in 2019.

They have been the most consistent of the East African teams at this stage having participated in all the last 5 Editions of the continental showpiece. Their best finish being 6th in the 2019 edition in Cairo.

“It’s our mandate to represent the country whenever we earn the rights and are nominated.” Nemostars’ Patron Neko Muduse-Ojala has always said.

The team however travelled without Head Coach Andrew Okapis due to financial constraints.

But the 10-commandos have their task well spelt.

“The target is the podium and that’s the final other than that we are hoping for the best,” Nemostars Head Coach, Andrew Okapis told The New Vision Newspaper in March 2021.

Nemostars have boosted their side with temporary acquisition of Ugandan International Savior Atama. George Aporu and Smith Okumu have been the most consistent of the squad having played in all the last 5-editions with Nemostars.

Nemostars results at the 2019 African Club Championship.

Classification 5-6 place

El Etihad 3-1 Nemostars (25-23, 22-25, 25-23, 25-20)

Classification 5-8 place

Nemostars 3-1 Kenya Prisons (25-20, 25-17, 19-25, 26-24)


Nemostars 0-3 Ahly Tripoli (19-25, 23-25, 19-25)


Nemostars 3-2 University of Zimbabwe (23- 25, 25-14, 28-30, 25-22, 15-10)

Nemostars 3-2 GSU (25-20, 25-23, 18-25, 25-27, 15-8)

Nemostars 3-1 Mwangaza (25-16, 25-22, 23-25, 25-15)

Nemostars 3-0 AS FAG (25-13, 25-13, 25-16)

Asaria 0-3 Nemostars (20-25, 23-25, 17-25)

2021 competition calendar: –

✓ Arrival 16th April 2021

✓ Technical Meeting 17th April

✓ Competition days 18th to 27th
April 2021

✓ Departure 28th April 2021

Nemostars’ contingent

  1. George Aporu
  2. Smith Okumu
  3. Steven Wandera
  4. Saviour Atama
  5. Bernard Malinga
  6. Walter Deans Aloka
  7. Leonard Wandera
  8. Fahad Zzungu
  9. Jonathan Tumukunde
  10. Emma Elanyu

International Referee Innocent Komakech also made the trip.

Leave a Reply